You are here

Court Holidays

Provide a listing of the days in the coming year that the court will take a holiday.

In the United States, there are 10 federal holidays set by law:

Under current definitions, four are set by date:

New Year's Day       January 1
Independence Day    July 4
Veterans Day      November 11
Christmas Day    December 25


If any of the above fall on a Saturday, then Friday may be observed as a holiday by various institutions. Similarly, if one falls on Sunday, then Monday may be observed as a holiday.

The other six are set by a day of the week and month:

Martin Luther King's Birthday Third Monday in January
Washington's Birthday Third Monday in February
Memorial Day Last Monday in May
Labor Day First Monday in September
Columbus Day Second Monday in October
Thanksgiving Fourth Thursday in November


FEDERAL HOLIDAY TABLE:  When a holiday falls on a nonworkday -- Saturday or Sunday -- the holiday is usually observed on Monday (if the holiday falls on Sunday) or Friday (if the holiday falls on Saturday).